Institutes in Dehradun

June 30, 2009 | Post By: Vinay Dobhal | Editor: Himanshu Pokhriyal

The Dehradun district stretches from the Ganges river in the east to the Yamuna river in the west, and from the Terai and Shivaliks in the south and southeast to the Great Himalaya in the northwest. The district headquarters is Dehradun, which has also served as the provisional capital of Uttaranchal since its founding in 2000, and may well become the permanent capital.

If we go according to Skanda Purana, Dun was formed from a part of the region called Kedar Khand. History says that it was included in the kingdom of Ashoka by the end of the 3rd century B.C. For centuries the region formed a part of the Garhwal kingdom. For about two decades till 1815 it was under the rule of the Gorkhas. In April 1815 Gorkhas were moved out from Garhwal region and Garhwal was annexed by the British. In that year the area which now have tehsil Dehra Dun was added to district Saharanpur. In 1825, however, it was transferred to the Kumaon Division.

Most Popular Tags