Haridwar District

June 30, 2009 | Post By: Vinay Dobhal | Editor: Shashi Bhatt

Haridwar also known as 'Gateway to Gods' is known as Mayapuri, Kapila, Gangadwar as well. The followers of Lord Shiva(Har) and followers of Lord Vishnu(Hari) pronounce this place Haridwar.It is also a point of entry to Dev Bhoomi and Char Dham Viz. Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri.

Haridwar is also one of the four places; where Kumbh Mela occurs after rotation of every twelve Years and Ardh Kumbh after every six years.

Important towns in the district are BHEL, Ranipur, Dhandera, Jhabrera, Laksar, Landaura, Manglaur, Mohanpur Mohammadpur, and Roorkee.


According to sayings king Bhagirath is said to have brought the river Ganga from heaven to earth in order to provide salvation to his ancestors. It is also said that Haridwar has been sanctified by the presence of three Gods; Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh. Lord Vishnu is said to have his foot print on the stone that is set in the upper wall of Har-Ki-Pauri where the Holy Ganga touches it all the times . Devout believers feel that they can go to heaven by getting their salvation after a dip in the sacred Ganga at Haridwar.

Haridwar district came into existence on 28th Dec. 1988. Prior to its inclusion in Uttarakhand, this district was a part of Saharanpur Divisional Commissionary.The district headquarter are in the Roshnabad, at a distance of about 12 kms from railway station.

General Information

Haridwar District Map

District HeadquartersHaridwar
Area2,360 sq.kms
Elevation294.7 mts
Coordinates29.945°N, 78.163°E
Language SpokenGarhwali, Hindi and English.
ClothingSummer: Cottons/ light woolens
Winter: Heavy Woolens

Other information

Most Popular Tags