Udham Singh Nagar District

June 30, 2009 | Post By: Vinay Dobhal | Editor: Shashi Bhatt

Udham Singh Nagar district is located in the Terai region, and is part of Kumaon Division. It is bounded on the north by Nainital District, on the northeast by Champawat District, on the east by Nepal, and on the south and west by Uttar Pradesh state. Rudrapur is the district headquarters.

The district was created in October 1995 out of Nainital District, and is named for Udham Singh. Cities in Udham Singh Nagar District are Kashipur, Jaspur, Bajpur, Gadarpur, Rudrapur, Pantnagar, Kichha, Sitarganj, Khatima, Shaktifarm.


Udham Singh Nagar came out of district Nainital on 30-Sep-1995. The place, long time back was reestablished for the refugees which came on 1948 beacause of partition. Immigrant from north west and eastern areas were reestablished here.

General Information

Udham-Singh-Nagar District Map

District HeadquartersRudrapur
Area3,055 sq.kms
Elevation550 m
Coordinates28.98°N, 79.40°E
Language SpokenKumaoni, Hindi, Punjabi and English.
ClothingSummer: Cottons/ light woolens
Winter: Heavy Woolens

Other information

Most Popular Tags